Nowadays, technological developments are causing environmental problems. Many people think that we should live a simpler life while others believe that technology can solve environmental problems. Discuss both view and give your own opinion.

Today people have different views about whether technology can harm environment or can save it. While thriving in technology may damage the environment, I believe that technology offers valuable solutions for environmental issues.

On the one hand, thriving in technology is dedicated to electricity. Electricity is needed both in the manufacturing stages of high-tech devices and also in using and charging them. This demand in electricity requires more and more fuels burnt in thermal power plants, resulting in increasing air and water pollution. Besides, nowadays, developments in technology need more resources such as aluminum and titanium which directly contribute to enlarging mines and factories , therefore more lands and animal’s habitat should be destroyed.

On the other hand, developments in technology have helped us in increasing the efficiency of our thermal power plants and other methods of harvesting energy. Also, new technologies brought less fuel consumption with designing modern and innovative engines. For instance, London has cleaner air now than during the previous century due to the invention of modern engines and cars. Moreover, there has been a significant rise in utilizing renewable energies for electricity generation which definitely has less carbon footprint and pollution. Furthermore, latest technologies in space explorations can forecast natural disaster that can help us decreasing damages to both people and environment. Last but not least, is that the new developments aim to use less space in terms of housing in order to occupy and demolish less animal’s habitat.

In conclusion, while some people think a simpler life reduces environmental issues I suppose new developments in technology can find better solutions for environmental problems.