Nowadays the differences between countries are becoming less evident because people follow the same media. Do the advantage of this trend outweigh the disadvantages See all user-written essays on this topic

In the contemporary world, due to the fact that people around the world are following the same media outlets, countries are losing their uniqueness and becoming very similar to each other. In my opinion, despite some merits of this development, this is largely a negative phenomenon.

To begin with, there are some potential benefits that can be gained from this situation. Firstly, it fosters easier integration tointo society for people moving abroad for study, work, or travel purposes. If people of the country one is travelling to wear similar clothes, eat similar food, and in general have a similar lifestyle, one is likely to easily adapt and find a common language with the locals. Moreover, the chances of culture shock and the related inconveniences it can bring are substantially diminished, facilitating a fulfilling travel experience.

However, this trend might lead to the erosion of culture, which is an indispensable part of every nation’s identity. Widespread promotion of western values via TV and Internet media channels has resulted in a mass adoption of the westernWestern culture, affecting almost every single country around the world. As people opt for garment and dietary choices offered by the global culture, there is a decreasing interest in national alternatives. For example, according to thea survey conducted in China, more than 95% of the population preferred to wear modern and convenient clothes instead of their traditional attire. If the situation persists for an extended period of time, this might eventually lead to a total loss of a nation’s culture.

Moreover, if countries lose their distinctive attributes, they might become less appealing as a tourist destination. To illustrate, an individual is less likely to travel to a country where people dress in the same fashion and the cuisine is almost the same as in the host country. This can have a severe detrimental impact on the tourism industry of the country. The countries which highly depend on money generated from the tourism sector will be most affected.

In conclusion, while the trend of countries becoming similar to one another can be advantageous in certain cases, the potential damage it can entail is far greater making it overall a negative phenomenon. Countries should take effective measures to maintain their national identities and perseverepreserve their cultures.