Nowadays the differences between countries are becoming less evident because people follow the same media. Do the advantage of this trend outweigh the disadvantages See all user-written essays on this topic

The widespread consumption of similar media is blurring the differences between a number of countries. I wholeheartedly believe that less evident differences between nations do more harm than good.

On a global level, following the same media can be beneficial at some point. One upside is the facilitation of cultural exchange and a sense of unity. When people consume the same music and news, they are exposed to diverse traditions, perspectives and lifestyles, exposure that cultivates a sense of global unity in the long run. K-pop music, for example, is a Korean type of music. This music, in fact, renders many individuals interested in the Korean traditions, values and food. This helps people around the world to broaden the horizon and reduce stereotypes about particular areas.

This benefit notwithstanding, in my view, it is a detrimental trend. A major drawback of similar media consumption is cultural homogenization, where local cultures are permeated by more powerful ones. English language is a perfect case in point, given its dominance on a global scale. Many individuals around the globe are trying to learn this international language, though they are losing their own identity. Besides language, it might put indigenous traditions and values at jeopardy. The way I see it, this erosion of cultural diversity, if not managed properly, cannot be compensated by any benefit.

In conclusion, following the same media is beneficial and problematic simultaneously. From an optimistic perspective, it can facilitate cultural exchange and a sense of unity; however, its potential problems, such as the loss of cultural identity, are far too great to ignore. Having considered both the advantageous and disadvantageous aspects of consuming similar media, I firmly believe that its negatives far outweigh its positives.