Nowadays , there are a large number of coffeee shops and fast food vendors on high street and in town centres. Why are there so many of these outlets? What effects is this having on the society

We can see many coffee shops and fast-food vendors in cities and towns. Some of them are excellent. But why so many of them are coming up? Is it a sign to worry about? Let us find out the answers.

The reasons are manyfold. First, many people have started to work. Due to their busy schedules and deadlines, they do not find time to cook a meal for themselves. This was not the case earlier. Before, people had time to prepare a hearty meal for themselves and others. Now, life is going at a rapid pace. Due to less time, they feel tired or lose interest in cooking for themselves. Coffee shops and fast-food vendors are there to fill up that place. Food comes at the time they need. Additionally, they are inexpensive. One can choose from a wide variety of them, based on their taste and appetite.

But I feel that this is not a good sign. Fast food has often been linked with bad health. Regular consumption of food from such places has a detrimental effect on one’s health. In addition to that, the concept of home-cooked food is also eroding slowly. Recipes that are home-cooked are slowly losing its identity. People forget the taste of their home food. If we look into the bigger picture, we are losing our culture, as food is an important part of one’s culture and society. Therefore, we can also say that these outlets are affecting the society, as a whole.

But I observe that things are changing for the better. People are realizing the ill-effects of fast food, and are shifting to home-cooked options.