Nowadays , there are a large number of coffeee shops and fast food vendors on high street and in town centres. Why are there so many of these outlets? What effects is this having on the society

If you go shopping downtown, it is more than likely you will encounter an overwhelming amount of cafes and eateries. Nowadays, there are so many options for you to eat that seem to be manifested into existence everyday. Why is that? The population is increasing, which means more people to feed, thus resulting in more providers. In addition, in this fast-paced world, people love to save time, and fast food has been a life-saver for them; however, these do cause multiple health issues.

We live in a very competitive world, with people racing against time to become successful. On average, you spend 2-3 hours eating, so it only seems logical to turn to an option that cuts down that time to an hour. This triggered the rise of fast-food chains 40 years ago, and it continues to grow as the population is showing no sign of declining. The same goes with coffee shops: instead of brewing your own coffee with your expensive coffee machine, you could simply grab one from Starbucks. Moreover, coffee shops are vibrant social hubs, giving you a chance to interact with other people and provide respite from work pressure and stress. Today, almost everyone is stressed, and with coffee shops releasing some of that stress, the demand for them will increase.

We have established why we are seeing a rise in cafes and fast-food joints, but how has this shaped our community? Firstly, there is no denying that the boom of convenient eateries has made our lives more productive. Imagine making your own Big Mac when you could get one in 10 minutes. However, this rise in productivity brings about a decline in health. Cafes and fast food items are high in sugar, salt and oil, which leads to a rise in colon cancer, diabetes, pulmonary and cardiac diseases. That seems like an awful consequence for an extra 2 hours.

In conclusion, the world’s persistence to make life more convenient has led to the rise in the number of coffee shops and fast-food restaurants. Although it does improve our productivity, it has made our diet unhealthy and increases the risk of future health complications.