Nowadays , there are a large number of coffeee shops and fast food vendors on high street and in town centres. Why are there so many of these outlets? What effects is this having on the society

The proliferation of global coffee chains poses an existential threat to small and local cafes. Whilst this situation is rather alarming, it is my firm belief that the increasingly esoteric tastes of consumers could be tapped by those in danger to survive themselves.

Those who envision a gloomy future of small and low-profile coffee shops cite the efficiency in management that global coffee series could offer. Indeed, these stores prove more resilient when facing financial difficulties, mostly because of circular revenue flows. This means that the profit of one chain could help offset monetary losses of another, thereby allowing for long-term survival. Such resilience is not always the case in small coffee stores which are privately owned and financially unstable. This could easily be seen in social distancing or volatile economic conditions, during which consumers are more reserved in spending on premium coffee, leaving such small enterprises exposed.

However, these ideas seem to fail to recognise the niche market that local coffee shops often aspire to carve. It is, specifically, the trendy and open-minded young generation who seek to distinguish themselves from others. They are more attracted to low-key, unobtrusive places and regard these destinations as their third place, where they can either commune with nature, find emotional resonance or immerse themselves in a new culture. In this light, the low profile inherent in these provincial coffee shops is a big competitive edge that wins over certain customer groups. The cultural factor is also at work here, since global coffee chains tend to offer a uniform decoration and interior, thereby failing to bring the trait that a region exhibits. This capacity, again, could be fulfilled by local storefronts if they carry out thorough demographic research and make informed architectural choices.

In summary, whilst the arguments for the prevailing dominance of big coffee chains are rather valid, I hold the view that how strategic and astute the owners of low-profile coffee stores prove matters. The food and beverage industry is more nuanced and competitive than ever; only those that demonstrate their insight into customers could secure a firm position, however.