Some people believe that teenagers should focus on academic subjects at school, while others think they should spend more time learning practical skills. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays a number of people believe that focusing on learning practical skills is much more useful than spending that time on academic subjects, while the rest goes against this belief. Though I agree that once students graduate those practical skills will be useful for them, it is also unjust to not give credit to their academic subjects.

On the one hand, having the skills to navigate life is quite beneficial for youngsters who have just stepped up to real life. Most of the time the lifestyles we imagine in our heads don’t match the ones that we actually experience once the time comes. So, learning what they may face in the future can be of a great help to high schoolers. The number of young adults feeling lost or depressed can be drastically decreased by this method. Moreover, having hobbies can help students have a sense of belonging to a community, and quite possibly aid them in socializing and making friends. In an era where teenagers generally prefer solitude over group activities, spending time on what they like doing together with other people can help us overcome this obstacle.

On the other hand, focusing on academic subjects is as much important as the first category, especially in times like this when financial stability has become increasingly important. In the early ages it may be fun and enjoyable to focus on and pursue what we like, but as one grows older the importance of an academic knowledge drastically increases. Slowly reaching the age when one can no longer be as active and agile as before makes it harder to actually work on a related field, but in contrast having an academic background often provide more stable long – term careers .

In conclusion, both enjoying youth by focusing on practical skills and hobbies, and not neglecting one’s academic life is essential in one’s life. The important thing is to balance them and spare enough time to each of them.