Customers should complain whenever they are dissatisfied with a service. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Opinions are divided on whether customers should be encouraged to make a complaint when they felt dissatisfied with a service. In my opinion, while customers excessively making complaints could deal disproportionate damage to service providers, they should not be discouraged from expressing their thoughts about the services they found unsatisfactory.

Arguably, it is true that some of the complaints could be irrational. To be specific, some individuals violently demand apologies from staff even when the mistake was minor. In extreme cases, they take a photograph of the staff without their consent and post it on social media to disseminat their seemingly negative experiences. If more people actively make a complaint, the number of those who engage in such inappropriate conduct may also increase, severely harming the reputation of services and the psychological well-being of staff.

However, although I believe that this concern may be understandable, it should not also block customers from exercising their rights entirely. A small fraction of dissatisfied customers resorting to socially unacceptable behavior is not a legitimate reason to deny all opportunities to customers to, for example, post a review that criticizes services. Otherwise, potential customers may lose an opportunity to know beforehand about a low-quality service.

Another point to note is that service providers are actually able to combat unreasonable demands from customers. Specifically, if they find that a complaint is inaccurate, they can bring the case to courts. Judges may decide that the complaint is unjustifiable, and the individual who made the complaint may be ordered to compensate for the damage caused by his or her action. Therefore, it can be argued that there are ways for services to fight back against unjustifiable action of customers.

In conclusion, although I believe that recommending customers to always express their dissatisfaction could be somewhat dangerous, I would argue that customers should be able to exercise their rights; service providers, too, could protect their reputation if they utilize legal services wisely.