- Some people believe hosting international sports events is good for the host coutnry, while others suggest the opposite. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people believe that hosting international sporting events, such as the Olympic Games or the FIFA World Cup, brings significant benefits to a country, whereas others argue that these events have more drawbacks than advantages. This essay will discuss both perspectives and argue that the benefits of hosting such events outweigh the disadvantages.

On the one hand, supporters of hosting mega-events argue that these big competitions can boost a country’s economy, as these large tournaments are capable of attracting a millions of international tourists. Consequently, many visitors spend a significant amount of money on hotels, public transport, and local foods. As a result, local businesses experience significant financial growth. Another main reason is that hosting global events can generate substantial revenue because these world events bring substantial revenue for the government and leads to the development of various facilities through ticket sales, sponsorship, and tourism. As a result, this leads to increased government income that can be reinvested in development.

On the other hand, if the government allocates a huge amount of money to constructing stadiums and improving infrastructure, It may increase government debt and lead to higher taxes for citizens. Another additional drawback is that the government has to focus on public security as massive crowds can threaten public safety. As a result, government must spend additional money on security measures. In conclusion, I firmly believe that there are so many advantages rather than drawbacks, as stated above. For instance, countries enhance their global reputation by hosting events because the world would focus on their infrastructure and organization. Therefore, this can attract foreign investment and improve relations among other countries.