Nowadays we are producing more and more waste. What are the causes of this? What can be done to help reduce the amount of waste?

The amount of waste produced by human beings has increased considerably over the past few years. This essay will discuss how over consumption and lack of information about recycling have contributed to this phenomenon, and the most effective solutions are raising awareness about the importance of recycling and imposing harsh punishments on people producing more waste.

People are being victim by this trend called over consumerism, that is to say, they tend to buy more things and eventually, dispose them more quickly once they are already used. This culture has increased predominantly with the advent of technology, mainly due to the fact that it is more convenient to purchase many products online at one go. Moreover, many persons are not aware of this effective method of recycling; they prefer to throw away used things rather than to recycle them. For example, waste from vegetables can be made as compost and used as natural fertilizer for plants. It is a more organic way and the amount of waste is reduced.

A viable solution is the government to raise awareness on the detrimental impact of a large amount of waste produced on the environment. NGOs and educational institutions can together promote and sensitize youngsters and adults the benefits of recycling in order to reduce household waste. For example, in every locality there should be separate bins for organic and inorganic waste; plastic bottles and glass should be put separately. Lastly, there should be severe laws for using plastics bags and bottles. If government raise the fine for using plastic items, people will think twice before using and dispose them afterwards.

In conclusion, the culture of overconsumption and ineffective ways to adopt the recycling process are the main causes of this problem, and the most efficient solutions are enforcing the laws on violators of environment and promote awareness of recycling among the population.