Nowadays, young people are leaving their homes in countryside to live in large cities. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh in the disadvantages?

In modern times, more young people are moving from their homes in rural areas to settle in metropolises. This phenomenon has more positives than negatives.

Regarding the negative side, living in large cities might have some considerable drawbacks. First, youngsters’ well-beings can be affected adversely since the air and water quality in cities is worse than in the countryside. To illustrate, gas emissions from a great number of vehicles on the road, along with waste containing toxic chemicals released from industrial factories, have led to air pollution and water contamination. These might weaken people’s immune systems, resulting in several health issues, such as cardiovascular problems, cancer, and respiratory diseases. Moreover, young people migrating from the countryside might find it hard to maintain a decent living standard because the expenses for housing, public facilities in healthcare, entertainment, and education sectors are much more expensive than in suburban areas. Consequently, these young adults are more likely to suffer from stress, anxiety, and even depression.

Nevertheless, those concerns can be overcome after young people adapt to city life and benefit from numerous advantages. One of the merits is employment opportunities since large cities offer youngsters a wider range of work in various fields such as building, real estate, and service, unlike the countryside, where only thrives mostly in farming. As a result, young people can expect to find the most suitable jobs and a high salary. Additionally, people can have easier access to advanced technology and infrastructure. For instance, there are many gyms with particular training courses for people to exercise more effectively and arts centres that assist young adults to develop their talents in music, painting, or cooking, which are not available in rural areas due to high expense and a lack of spaces. This contributes to improving living standards and boosting the nation’s economy. Last but not least, a vibrant and competitive environment in large cities to get a promotion in career might help young people to stay motivated. This not only increases employees’ productivity but also encourages to create a energetic and healthy society.

In conclusion, although young people might face several challenges involving air and water pollution and abnormal expenses when leaving the countryside to live in large cities, there are more positives that are worth the change, such as more job opportunities, developed infrastructure, and high motivation.