Nowadays, young people are leaving their homes in countryside to live in large cities. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh in the disadvantages?

Recently, in many countries, young adults are moving from their hometown to big cities. While the urban area offers better opportunities for them, I believe that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages as overpopulation in large cities leads to lower quality of life.

Young individuals can find a wide range of jobs with higher salaries in major cities. Certain specialized jobs are not available in small towns due to low demand. For example, many IT and Marketing agencies do not exist in rural areas because small local businesses do not require advanced technology. Moreover, large corporations mostly put their headquarters or bigger stores in developed areas, which creates diverse job opportunities and higher payments for senior positions. However, I think that this movement creates more harm to city residents.

Urban areas are often overcrowded, which results in rising cost of living and traffic congestion. The demand for accommodations is on top, which makes the price of houses and rent more expensive. This contributes indirectly to increasing the cost of other essentials such as groceries and eating out. There will be more vehicles on the road, and the time to travel between places will be longer, especially in rush hours. To illustrate, it takes more than one hour to commute from Etobicoke to the GTA area in Toronto, while it only takes 30 minutes to travel the same distances in Sudbury.

In conclusion, although young people can have more career options and greater income in big cities, the drawbacks of this moving trend are more significant than the benefits since the quality of life in crowded places will decrease.