Obesity is a serious problem in many countries, especially in rich countries. What causes obesity and how can it be solved?

It is true that obesity is a challenging issue facing the world today. While there are a variety of reasons responsible for it, steps can definitely be taken to solve it.

Rising obesity has several reasons. One possible reason is that people consume an excessive amount of processed food because it is delicious and convenient. These types of food contain a lot of calories and unhealthy fat which causes them to gain weight. Another reason is that people have limited scope for physical activity as most of the everyday activities of modern lifestyle are sedentary. As a result, people burn fewer calories than they consume on a given day. Besides, the reluctance of people to exercise or play any physically engaging sports is one of the main reasons why obesity is increasing so rapidly.

Obesity can certainly be tackled. Firstly, in addition to encouraging everyone to maintain a healthy diet, the availability of junk food should be restricted. For example, when someone has to walk a mile to grab a burger, they will be less motivated to do it. Secondly, people can redesign their lifestyle in a way that makes it easy for them to have more physical movements. Finally, motivating people to play sports or exercise is probably the most effective approach to tackle/handle/manage/overcome this problem. This is because once people start doing exercises, they will be concerned about what they should eat and what they should not.

In conclusion, obesity will continue to be a problem unless the availability of processed food is controlled, the sedentary lifestyle is reversed and people are encouraged to exercise more.