One day off a week is enough. To what extent do you agree?

It has been widely discussed and frequently causes disagreements that a single day off work each week is a sufficient period of downtime. I believe that this viewpoint is inaccurate, and the following essay will provide valid arguments which will support my perspective.

To begin with, one should take into account the potential health consequences of excessive work without adequate respite. Firstly, an individual’s physical and mental health may suffer by taking on too much work and not getting enough rest. An individual is more prone to have type 2 diabetes, anxiety, coronary heart disease, stroke, neck, back, or chest discomfort, among other unfavourable health issues. Mental health problems are often made worse by overworking. Anxiety and depression are projected to cost the world economy $1 trillion annually in lost productivity.

Secondly, it is important to remember that during the last ten or so years, a

thorough examination of the majority of workers’ work habits has been conducted. This has led to a deluge of research suggesting that work weeks over forty hours are detrimental to the organization overall as well as to the personnel. For instance, the risk of having a stroke is increased by nearly 35% among those who work an average of 55 hours or more each week. When comparing their chance of death from a heart disease-related illness to an average workweek of forty hours, it is around seventeen percent.

In conclusion, this writer believes that the suggested perspective that one day off work per week is appropriate downtime is not only erroneous but also potentially fatal. This is because there are numerous detrimental effects of taking insufficient time off, as discussed above.