One of the consequence of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do u think advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from ur knowledge/experience

The unprecedented advancements and development that the medical field has known, contributed to prolonging people’s lives. I strongly believe that there are more benefits to this achievement than drawbacks.

The possibility to live longer which modern medicine has allowed, gave a chance for families to spend more time with their loved ones. Because of the incredible advancements in this field that so many people didn’t go through the heartbreaking experience of losing a parent for example, especially at a younger age. Additionally, the world get to benefit from the expertise and the knowledge of old people, such as scholars, innovators, and those who excelled at their fields. For instance, Chomsky who led a long life to write multiple books that enriched the intellectuality of a lot people. Relieving people’s pain and suffering from dangerous illnesses is another positive aspect of medical breakthroughs.

While this seems advantageous and strived for, this has diverse negative aspects. Old population has significantly increased in multiple countries like Germany and Italy. Therefore, there is a considerable decrease in the young working force that those countries could benefit from. Moreover, although they succeeded in maintaining patient’s lives, they extended their suffering and pain without the chance for a merciful death that could end them. For instance, there was a huge controversy ignited by Doctor Jack who promoted the idea of the right of death for those who are kept alive under medical machines while suffering from endless days on bed or the inability to move.

To conclude, in my opinion as long as medical care nowadays can make people stay longer with their families, benefit from scholars and highly skilled individuals, and take away the pain of those who are ill, the advantages outnumbers the disadvantages which are limited to prolonging the lives of cases that medicine will find solutions to in the future.