One problem faced by almost every large city is traffic congestion. What do you think the causes are? What solutions can you suggest?

Traffic jam has been a critical issue across the global metropolitan cities. This essay will explain two main causes; increased private vehicle use and low taxes on private car sales. In addition, there are two possible solutions to the issue; using mass transportation and raising progressive tax.

In fact, the fundamental cause of urban traffic congestion is the massive private vehicle usage. This situation especially happens during working hours when all transportation types unite on the road. It can be seen, for instance, when sub-urban workers are moving inside the city centre, most of them tend to drive their own rather than utilize public transportation. To tackle this problem, the government should facilitate commuters with proper and in-time mass transportation that can reach as many destinations as possible.

Following that issue, the second factor leading to traffic jams is the affordable tax on private car sales. It has also been injected with national subsidies to attract more new consumers. Consequently, this phenomenon drives more desire in middle-class society to purchase more cars. Lately, more and more people are competing to flex a new car in their garage. So, to address this issue, all stakeholders should seriously limit access by raising the progressive tax and providing strict regulation.

To conclude, the traffic congestion issue caused by intense self-owned car use and cheap taxes on car sales has been an integral part of big cities around the world. Therefore, to solve the problem, the authorities should provide mass transportation properly and widely, followed by a high tax on private car consumption.