Online education is becoming increasingly popular. Many university students are choosing to study online instead of face to face. Do the advantages of distance education outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent day, technology boom helped may stakeholders. Technology may range from laptop to internet service provider coverage. One of the stakeholder are the students persuing higher studies from the University. It has been observed that numerous students prefer opting for online delivery method for lectures over traditional method. In my view, online method is convinent, and cost effective, compared to old style delivery method of lecture.

The distance learning saves travelling time and concentrate of their studies from their home or any place which is comfortable to them. In addition, all the hustle of travelling requires them to spend money on transit from home or place they stay to reach the educational institute. For instance, approximately $3.20 per ride per day a student spends while commuting to the university. It can be noted that convinence of studying from anywhere, and cost saving is benefical to the students.

Nevertheless, this brings in disadvantages of meeting new friends from same or different course in the same institution. Due to online lecture, they would avoid or miss the social events, like job fairs, organised by the University. Furthermore, in the real world, references play an vital role when looking for jobs. Any individual/professor will not refer you based on your score they do evalute your behaviour which might range from body language to discipline in your daliy activity. Thus, there is a loss when students opt for distance education.

In conclusion, new technology improvement in the field of education has led to inclination of advantages compared to disadvantages of online education.