Online shopping is increasing dramatically. How could this trend affect our environment and the kinds of jobs required?

In contemporary society, the development of digital technology and the Internet has been changed the way people consume goods. Some individuals generally accept that online shopping is increasing dramatically, yet some arguments believe that this mainstream directly affect our environment and labor market requirements. The advantage and disadvantage will discuss to clarify this below essay.

On the one hand, there are numerous disadvantage should be considered regarding the environment issues. Clearly, every online orders must be shipped to the buyer’s home, this order leading using trucks, and motorbikes to transport goods will cause environmental pollution from the CO2 emissions of those vehicles. Moreover, online goods need to be packaged with cardboard boxes, plastic, and foam bags. By the way, these materials are mostly difficult to decompose or cannot be recycled properly, causing direct impact on the environment. For instance, an order as a small lipstick need to packaged with cardboard boxes contains many layer of protective plastic, leading to the pollution environment and waste.

On the other hand, this mainstream also brings many benefits for the jobs opportunities in the future. Firstly, online shopping means fewer people going to supermarkets and stores, which will reduce the need to hire sales staff, motivating job seekers to try harder to start their own small businesses. Moreover, thanks to increase the demand for jobs in logistics management, providing manufactured products, transporting, leading to increased economy for country. Besides, online shopping platforms will save customers travel time because there are delivery people.

In conclusion, online shopping is creating both drawbacks and opportunities. Environmentally, if the government not well controlled, it can cause serious pollution. In terms of jobs, it creates many new job opportunities. The government should balance the environment and employment opportunities to effectively exploit online shopping platforms in the modern era.