Online shopping is increasing dramatically. How could this trend affect our environment and the kinds of jobs required?

Thanks to the advancement of technology, many new shopping platforms have appeared and have increased significantly. This trend can pose some positive effects in the short term, but in the long term, it can cause many disadvantages to our environment and employment.

On the one hand, the widespread online shopping can bring some benefits to the environment and jobs required. In terms of the environment, thanks to the convenience of these e-commerce platforms, people can purchase goods at home without using vehicles to access physical shops which can decrease the level of greenhouse gas emissions and fuel consumption. With regard to employment, the growing popularity of online shopping has created various new employment opportunities, such as online grocery personal shoppers, delivery drivers, and web designers.

On the other hand, in the long run terms, this trend can cause some matters concerning. Looking into the future, however, the higher online shoppers the more delivery vehicles on the road, releasing more exhaust fumes and heat-trapping gases. Besides, to transport these products they must be packaged in boxes or plastic bags which are one of the most difficult to decompose waste and cause a lot of harm to the environment. The growth of this kind of shopping might lead to the bankruptcy of many traditional retailers, forcing thousands of people to face unemployment. Although online shopping may have many job positions, the unemployment rate from stores is faster than the growth rate of e-shopping, which can place a huge burden on the government to create alternative jobs for them.

In conclusion, online shopping can be a wise choice in the short term because it can bring some benefits to our environment and employment. However, in the long run, the disadvantages of this trend overshadow its ad