Online shopping is increasing dramatically. How could this trend affect our environment and the kinds of jobs required?

Nowadays, online shopping has become more popular than ever. This essay discusses the effects of this development on our environment and employment patterns.

Concerning its impact on the environment, the proliferation of online shopping offers numerous advantages outweighing its drawbacks. Our environment can reduce pollution from the exhaustion of transportation to the store. It also helps to reduce carbon footprint, which causes the greenhouse effect. For example, the private car can’t carry too many goods while the delivery truck can deliver a large quantity of goods to many houses. Therefore, it can cut down the carbon emissions to the atmosphere. However, people always depend on the advantages of online shopping to buy and use more. Consequently, there are more delivery trucks, which can discharge large amounts of carbon emissions, cause a greenhouse effect. This may aggravate issues such as increased levels of waste ending up in landfills and further exacerbating climate change.

In terms of its impact on job requirements and types, the trend of online shopping presents more favorable aspects than unfavorable ones. This trend has created more employment opportunities for people, especially people who have skills in information technology or delivering goods. The online store on the internet needs more people who design, manage the web, and drive trucks to deliver. However, society doesn’t exist in many traditional jobs, such as traditional retailers. Online shopping is more popular than ever, so it forces people to close the store and face unemployment. The number of unemployed people might outnumber the number of job openings created by the rapid development of online shopping, resulting in a higher level of unemployment.

To sum up, online shopping has both advantages and disadvantages on our environment and employment. However, at this time, the advantages eclipse the disadvantages of online shopping, whereas in the long term, the disadvantages can overshadow the advantages