Online shopping is significantly increasing. (What effect does this have on people, what are the demerits and what are the job opportunities?)

Over the last few decades, with the rapid expansion of online shopping platforms, purchasing through the internet has become an integral part of people’s lifestyles, which not only changed the way people buy but also transformed the global consumer behaviour. This essay will delve into the main effects on people, notable disadvantages, as well as employment opportunities that online shopping icludes.

First of all, one profound effect of online purchasing is that it has changed the way people make decisions. In the past, people used to spend their time shopping in physical stores to find products that matched their preferences because the quality of products did not suit their demands, which directly required a considerable time and effort. For instance, in order to find well-produced clothes, people travelled hours or days to find a store that offers suitable options. In this contemporary era, however, people compare prices, read reviews, or research before buying online. For instance, when one is struggling to choose an item, it is possible to check feedback or even pictures that majority post to make others aware before making a purchase. This flexibility allows individuals to choose a high-quality product based on their needs.

although online shopping offers convenience, its drawbacks should be taken into consideration. One main disadvantage of internet shopping lies in the reduction of physical shops. To clarify, as online buying has become more accessible to consumers, it has undermined the sales of traditional retail. These days, physical stores have become much emptier compared to the past, as individuals prefer to purchase through internet, which saves both time and energy. As a result, this directly caused local stores to suffer financially and led to job losses. Online platforms of companies, such as Nike or Apple, generate more profit compared to their offline stores, which can serve as a good example of this.

In addition to its effects, internet shopping has opened a variety of employment prospects in multiple fields. In other words, as internet shopping continues to grow, there is a huge need for software developers and graphic designers to make products appealing and gradually maintain the website’s flexibility. In online platforms such as Alibaba, the share of website designers comprises 70% of all employment sectors, which can be a good example of this. Therefore, this development can provide a wide range of well-paid jobs for both youth and adults, and at the same time reduce unemployment rates.

To summarize, I am convinced that online purchasing has changed people’s decision-making by offering conveniences, while causing a decline in the sales of traditional shops, as well as creating jobs in the field of technology.