Only government action can solve housing shortages in big cities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the lack of housing in metropolitan areas could solely coped well with by the government. Yet to the best of my knowledge, I firmly disagree with a mentioned statement which will be analysed with relevant examples to justify it.

There are two main reasons why government policies can deal with inadequate in many cities all over the world. Firstly, government intervention is necessary in some parts of the segments of the market and it affects the development of the economy. For instance, single parents, the poor, and disabled people are facing to burden of funding, so they cannot afford to pay for the high-cost of housing, especially in metropolitan zones. Because of that, the government can provide them with housing allowance to purchase their own properties or their houses. Secondly, the government can suggest some policies to restrict the fluctuation of the market, which can solve the problem of housing prices as well as the salaries of workers. As a result, the citizens will have sufficient expedition to purchase good housing or rent apartments at the reasonable cost.

Apart from the practical benefits above, I believe that the serious urban issues can be addressed by the private property developers, not only the government. The involvement of private sectors are essential in the housing industry and they serve as a vital role in attracting public consumption through advertisements. For example, nowadays, with the modernity of technology, the businessmen can appeal to the public by a wide range of marketing strategies, such as advertisements in the Internet, and organize workshops to attract citizens that they can select apartments with their demands and budge capacity. In addition, those companies are able to control the fluctuation of the property market. In other words, the government has to control a lot of problems in their area, so they can not focus on the issue that lack of housing, however, the property entrepreneurs have more knowledge in their field, and consequently, they can help to solve the inadequate problem in big cities.

In conclusion, for the reasons I have mentioned above, I strongly believe that not only the government can address housing shortages, but private developers also can do that better.