Only government action can solve housing shortages in big cities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Housing shortage is an ever-expanding issue due to inexorable population rise. While a great many posit that government intervention solely holds the key to remedying this dire situation, I opine that it would be imprudent to overlook the contributions of private sectors and individuals to this undertaking.

Proponents of this idea may argue on the foundation of the government’s authority. The authorities possess resources, regulatory authority and the mandate required to mitigate this problem. They could enact housing-first policies by offering tax incentives to non-profit housing provision organisations or rezoning plots for residential purposes. Advocates often cite examples from New York, where government-led housing programmes potentially lead to 80% citizenry living in decent accommodation.

However, I contend that the aforementioned statement would be to overlook the amalgamation of private corporations with individuals. While the government set the regulations, the collaboration between private sectors and non-profit organizations could expedite solutions to the housing crisis. Moreover, the involvement of commoners in housing innovation plans could also partly ameliorate this conundrum. Finland serves as a testament to this argument when an upscale skyscraper was transformed into affordable apartments by private organisations, especially accessible for the marginalized.

In conclusion, while a growing school of thought believes that the government actions hold the backbone of solving housing shortages, I emphasize that this idea is equivalent to underestimation of private companies and individuals’ indispensable role in alleviating this phenomenon.