OPINION More and more people could now access information from computers and other electronic devices. Therefore, there is no need to use printed books, magazines, or newspapers on paper. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, more and more people use electronic devices, such as computers, mobile phones, and even digital books, to access a wide base of information, including various collections of books, guides, comics and newspapers. Even some schools implement these types of reading and storing information. According to this, there is no particular need to use paper printed goods. I personally agree with this state, and there are some some certain reasons for that. Namely, ecological impact of paper based production as well as convenience and simplicity of using digital books.

The first argument in favor is that commercial printing companies produce over tens of millions of books yearly, which, in fact, requires several thousands of forests to be logged down. These kinds of actions lead to severe negative changes in the biosphere, such as forest animals losing their natural habitat, soil erosion, and a decrease in oxygen production. There are plenty of disturbing examples to support this, being mass deforestations in Amazon and Siberian forests, which led to disruption of numerous ecosystems.

Another reason why I support my opinion, opinion is that I find it way more convenient to straight up search the literature you need in digital catalogues than walking miles to find one, and nobody guarantees that you will even succeed at first place. For instance, there are dosens of websites and apps that provide you with a wide set of literature for every taste, such as Global Digital Library, Comic Book Library, and Mangalib.

In summary, printed books are getting outdated, and their digital variant is far more ecologically friendly and easier to use.