Our personalities are predetermined as a result of our genes before we are born and there is nothing that can be done to alter our character traits to what extent do you agree or disagree?

Reading about this topic reminds me of the biblical story about King David. Whenever he rewarded his kingdom he used to give people herds of animals, everyone became curious as to why the king did not reward gold or jewels after learning about the family background of the king they came to know before becoming a king he was a shepherd by profession. This story tells us the person’s personality reflects the traits from where he belongs. Humans are created beautifully, microscopically their basic building block is DNA which represents their parental genes. This is the reason we say like father like son. The personality of a person is the essence of several things moods, thoughts and opinions. From my point of view, it is not restricted to the genes of a person.

The circumstances a person goes through in his life influence his character. For instance, a leader who as a child has gone through adversity knows better about the problems of the common man rather than the one born with a silver spoon and has all the amenities available at his hand. Secondly, experience with ageing is an essential factor in moulding character. A person’s ability to cope up with problems and situations varies according to his own intelligence and critical thinking towards it, this is not limited to the genes of a person. Thirdly, the environment a child has been raised the cultural, societal and religious values he follows also change character traits.

Modern neurological studies have suggested paternal qualities like facial features, and habits may be identical to the child but personalities may differ from each other. We observe that in many cases successful fathers do not determine sons’ success. The most common example is Bill Gates, a leading IT company Microsoft owner. Astronomically we know that every person born at different dates has different stars ruling effecting personalities differently.

Hence we can conclude that some features of parental may be transmitted through genes but it does not determine a person’s character. Every person is unique in his own way. The life he spends leads to what he makes of himself.