Our personalities are predetermined as a result of our genes before we are born and there is nothing that can be done to alter our character traits to what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been long believed that personalities are largely stable and inherited to humans. To a certain extent, I acknowledge this statement that personality traits are carried via genetic codes. However, a unit of heredity is not the only factor influencing character development and through persistent interventions and major events characteristic traits can be shaped.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that genetic codes have noticeable effects on human nature. Certain gene variations can contribute to particular character traits, including behavioral and psychological characteristics, intellectual ability and risk for mental illnesses. For example, the author of the first opera in East, famous Azerbaijani composer Uzeyir Hajibeyov was born in a family of musicians and the majority of his relatives was linked to different branches of music industry.

Considering the other side, character can vary as time passes and many other contributors are included in this process. One of these components is experience. It is temperament that is mistaken for character. Temperament does not change dramatically throughout the lifespan. Nevertheless, character traits are markedly dependent on taking actions, making mistakes and venturing to correct them. The sample as another contributor is the environment in which the individual grows up. In other words, personality is evidently tied to the process of socialization. An outgoing atmosphere can force an introvert person to be more active and communicative. For instance, a worldwide known businessman and inventor Steve Jobs claim that he was very shy as a teenager. However, due to his profession he felt the responsibility to initiate a conversation with strangers. As a result that shy boy can now give a fluent speech in front of a large audience.

In summary genetics is a part of the formation of character, but it’s not the only element. Character traits are not steady and it is possible to modify personality by means of interferences.