In many countries young people are encouraged to take a "gap year" between finishing school and starting university.Some believe this is benefical for personal development,while others believe it is a dwaste of time put students in a disadvantage

In the modern world some students after their graduation from school opt to take a year off and devote their free time to different activities, which can contribute to their further development. Nevertheless, some people claim that irrespective of all the benefits this attitude has negative sides too which should be taken into consideration before making a final decision.

A common mistake made by students during the gap year is that they tend not to use their time effectively, which results in both psychological as well as educational setbacks. By not contributing enough effort and concentration into advancing their development they can feel as if they are falling behind their peers, especially those expanding their knowledge academically. That can have a negative impact on the mental health of the students and can further on halt their overall willingness to expand their edicational fields.

However, the person during said gap year could instead plan out how to spend their time proficiently or at the very least participate in activities which would positively affect their future. Such initiatives would be able to help them decide or even finance their future career path, even with a possibility of putting them in a better position than people who directly contnued their education after school. Additionally, those having a year off would also have the opportunity to develop their overall organizational skills as well as aid them in becoming more independent, thus preparing them for the later stages of their career and life as a whole.

In conclusin, I personally believe that the benefits of a gap year far outweigh its disadvantages. Being able to gain a better understanding of their future and a clearer outlook on their life can greatly improve a young person’s chances of success and can ultimately offer even better opportunities, which would have otherwise been overlooked if they had chosen a direct follow-up of education or practice after finishing school.