In many countries young people are encouraged to take a "gap year" between finishing school and starting university.Some believe this is benefical for personal development,while others believe it is a dwaste of time put students in a disadvantage

It is generally acknowledged that a sudden shift from school to university can be quite challenging for the younger generation. To eliminate this burden, governments have introduced a new law that allows students to take a “gap year” to unwind and recharge. Proponents of this law state that it can improve both the mental and physical health of young people, while others strongly argue that it is just postponing the inevitable and may put students into difficulty in the future.

On the one hand, it is an excellent choice for young people to take some time to relax and reconsider their approach to the future. In other words, graduating from high school itself is so harsh and complicated, and it often puts youngsters into immeasurable stress and anxiety. According to doctors, spending some time away and immersing themselves in nature can be beneficial for an individual’s personal development. In addition, a gap year also gives them the opportunity to participate in events or organizations as a volunteer, which makes it more rewarding for individuals.

On the other hand, spending so much time without reading or learning anything can lead to a loss of memory or skills. For example, new graduates have sharp minds and an ocean of skills, but if they don’t train themselves, students can easily forget their existing knowledge about their specialization. Furthermore, it is essential for schools to create a sense of accountability and self-discipline in students. In this “gap year”, they will change their routine, and it might have a negative impact on the preservation of discipline.

Consequently, taking time enhances personal development and opens the door to new opportunities for young people, while it can also downgrade an individual’s discipline and knowledge. By working together, families and schools can encourage students to train themselves every day while enjoying their “gap year.”