Over the last decades the media has promoted the image of young thin women as being ideal. What problems has this caused? What solutions can you suggest to this issue?

There has been an ongoing trend for media to encourage skinny, young women as being the ideal standard. Unfortunately, this has caused a wave of issues, resulting in more detrimental effects to developing giris.

A number of young women have developed insecurities that make them feel ashamed of their appearance. To illustrate this, some research indicates that a significant number of females do not feel comfortable in their skin, because of the unattainable beauty standards media has promoted over the last few years. To reach the “perfect” figure, many are putting their health, or even in some cases their life on the line, turning to extreme diets that are bad for their health. For instance, there have been cases of death from starvation all around the world as young women try to lose weight.

However, despite the issues, there are solutions to these problems. With the support of women in the media, for example influencers, posts about body-positivity can persuade people that standards are changing. With the popularity of social media, this plan can be put into action very easily and quickly. In addition, for females who are anxious about their age and figure, one of the best strategies to increase confidence is to burn calories by going to the gym, jogging, or simply walking daily. Cardio exercise has helped many women worldwide.

In conclusion, while media expectations might have damaged women’s self-esteem, there are many approaches to reduce their negative effects, including discouraging the unhealthy standards from within the industry itself or promoting healthy hobbies like doing cardio.