Over the last decades the media has promoted the image of young thin women as being ideal. What problems has this caused? What solutions can you suggest to this issue?

In recent years, it has become a common phenomenon to see young tin women as an ideal person promoting them on social media. While it gives rise to two main problems, governments and parents can take steps to address these issues.

One of the most significant problem arising from the picture of young, thin women as ideals in the media is the detrimental impact it has not solely on body, but also dissatisfaction from own body, particulary amoung young girls. For example, studies have shown that approximately 40% of teenagers girls in the US report being satisfied with their bodies due to unattainable beauty standards in the media. Furthermore, if this continued, young people would resort drastic measures, including eating disorders or plastic surgeries, to fit in with societal expectations.

Governments could introduce laws to prevent the promotion of unhealthy beauty standards that encourage young people to harm their physical and mental health, and awareness campaigns could be launched to highlight the dangers of extreme dieting and plastic surgeries, thereby promoting healthier approaches to body image. Moreover, family support can help young people resist the negative influence of media by promoting a healthy lifestyle and focusing on qualities beyond appearance. For example, promoting physical activities, such as yoga or sports, would help young people develop a positive relationship with their bodies and foster a sense of empowerment.

In conclusion, it seems to me that both governments and parents paly a significant role while young women paying attention on good bodies.