Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, there has been a tendency among students to consider taking a gap year. This essay will examine the advantages and disadvantages of making such a decision.

To begin with, I firmly believe that the choice of taking a year off has a range of advantages. When students make this decision, during this period they have plenty of time to think carefully about their goals and plans. To illustrate, after passing final exams at school, learners get lost, as they are not sure what occupation they want to connect their lives with. That is why during this year they have a great opportunity to discover their preferences better or even travel to other countries to see universities, courses and cultures. This experience is very precious, since students spot various options for determining their future course. Likewise, gap year forces students to be more responsible and engaged during their study. If they choose their study consciously and by interest, their desire to gain new knowledge will grow. This has a huge benefit for future employment, as people are going to be much more educated and proficient at their work.

Although, there are some disadvantages of a gap year that influence students. After taking this time off, pupils may refuse to continue studying, since university demands discipline, there are a lot of exams, and a variety of different material. It may be hard after this break to come back to a strict routine and cover a lot of information simultaneously. Apart from that, learners might experience demotivation among peers who haven’t taken a gap year. Even a small break can make students feel differently about their study pace, as their colleagues may go ahead and that makes them think that they are falling behind. As a result, fewer people choose to have a degree, which is a huge drawback for their career and job seeking.

To sum up, taking a gap year is beneficial for people who want to pick a job deliberately for their future opportunities. However, during this break they may have a lack of desire to continue their study because of fear of falling behind.