Overpopulation in cities causes numerous social problems. Discuss the causes and effects and suggest possible solutions.

It is widely acknowledged that the increasing number of people in urban areas has a negative impact on society. There are certain reasons for this shift and a range of actions should be taken for alleviating the effects of this issue.

We cannot overlook the fact that low quality of life in rural areas is the main culprit of these large migrations towards cities. For instance, not having enough healthcare professionals with proper qualifications, countryside cannot provide its residents with sufficient life. Another cause of why people are drawn to concrete jungles is job opportunities they are more likely to get, which can enable them to help their families or to make sure their children have a chance for getting a higher education.

Without any doubt, this change in urban population is most likely to affect society’s usual lifestyle detrimentally. One of these negative impacts is traffic jams caused by overcrowding. As a result, residents might spend most of their time commuting to work or schools, which in turn can deteriorate their nervous system. This potentially can exacerbate the economy of the whole country, since the main part of the workforce might not be able to meet the expectations due to stress.

Governments could mitigate these problems by acting instantly. One of these ways is to make a number of developments in the areas outside of cities, which are more likely to attract people to these places. For example, establishing new facilities such as modern schools, universities or recreational places not only can improve rural society’s way of living, but it also creates more job opportunities for these inhabitants.

In conclusion, overcrowded cities are affecting each human being and governments at the same time, and authorities should feel the responsibility to overcome this problem.