overpopulation is a major problem in many urban centers. causes and solutions

One of the serious problems that urban areas are facing today is an upsurge in their population size. The increasing number of employment opportunities and an improved standard of living could be potential causes for such an increase. However, this issue can be tackled with the development of rural sites.

The principal reason why people choose urban areas over rural ones can be attributed to the greater availability of jobs. Since many large corporations tend to be located in urban areas, it leaves people with no choice but to relocate to developed cities. Additionally, the wage rate offered in big cities is more competitive as opposed to that offered in rural locations. Thus, urban centers are perceived as a better place for work and attract a large number of people.

Besides offering job prospects, urban centers seem to raise people’s living standards. This is because all amenities, such as education, health, communication, and finance, are abundant in urban places. No matter how developed rural areas might be, they still struggle to compete with prosperous urban areas in terms of services and facilities. Consequently, people generally prefer to be a part of the community that can best serve their requirements.

In my opinion, the abovementioned issues can be best solved if rural areas start to develop more, which calls for some serious steps on the part of the government. Firstly, the officials should encourage businesses to establish their campuses in rural areas by offering various incentives, so that people could avoid migration to a large extent. Secondly, the government should allocate a considerable portion of its budget to the development of educational centers, hospitals, and banks in rural sites, which can potentially encourage people to stay in rural areas.

To recapitulate, the urban areas, today, are suffering from the problem of increased population, which can be due to more work opportunities and a better living standard in those places. In order to overcome this problem, I feel the government should take an initiative for the proper growth of rural areas.