Parents of obese children should be punished for making them fat. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people would argue that it is the parents that are to blame because of their child’s obesity and they must be punished for this. I disagree with the statement because the reasons of obesity may vary and a human organism may respond poorly to medical treatment.

To begin, the reason for obesity may lay not only in unhealthy food habits, but a range of other things. One of the reasons to this can be misbalance between the amount of calories a child intakes and lack of physical exercise. What is more, due to such diseases as hormonal imbalance, diabetes children may take medicine which can trigger weight gain.

What is more, if an obese child is treated and none of the positive results can be achieved, so it is not the parents’ fault, it is poor reaction of the organism. In other words, parents can do nothing since they are not doctors. The only thing is to have a regular check-up and do blood tests. For example, in Kazakhstan, these check-ups among children are held on a regular basis, thus parents can be asserted beforehand and start treatment as early as possible.

However, some people hold the view that parents should keep a track of their children’s weight? and it is their obligation. I disagree because of the beforementioned reasons. Disease may be asymptomatic during the initial stage, and not every can be cured instantly.

To conclude, it is not a parental fault of children’s obesity unless the reason is an illness or poor response reaction of the organism due to the medicine.