Parents often give children everything they ask for and do what they like. Why? What are the consequences when they grow up?

Some parents adopt a permissive parenting style, accommodating their offspring’s demands and requests without any boundaries. This essay will delve into the underlying reasons of this child-rearing practice and analyse the results of its long-lasting causes to children.

The over-indulgence for children might be attributed to several factors. Firstly, parents might want to provide their children the best. Parents could believe that the better off and unconstrained lifestyle will give their children sense of happiness and fulfilment. For example, adults growing up in hardship might want to provide kids what they used to desire. Hence, pampering children might be a way for parents to express their love and care. Secondly, the over-indulgence could be a compensation for children. Some families can not spend sufficient time with their kids due to works or other commitments. As a result, they will accommodate every demand from their children to make up for their absence.

While driven by good intentions, this approach can have various negative effects on kids’growth. One major impact is that children’s attitude and character can be spoilt by the pampering. Having everything they need effortlessly can lead to an inflated sense of entitlement, which form a self-righteous and self-centred attitude. Consequently, when children transition into adulthood, they may struggle in adapting with society and working with others. Furthermore, over-protected children can have poor soft skill and be over-reliant. As they were shielded from obstacles, kids might have little chance to learn from real-life experience and failure. For instance, children who do not engage in household chores can struggle to perform fundamental tasks such as cooking independently. Thus, children can be incapable of controlling their own circumstances, especially when facing challenges.

In conclusion, the excessive pampering might stem from love and parental compensation; however, this permissive parenting can result in entitled disposition and a deficiency in skills of children persistently.