Parents should take courses in parenting in order to improve the lives of their children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s society, it has become familiar for parents to take parenting courses to ensure a quality life for their children. While some argue that parenthood can be naturally acquired, I staunchly believe in the advantage of parenting courses as it makes parents far more qualified for parenthood and decrease the probability of childhood traumas and mental illness. This essay will explore the benefits of such courses and illustrates why I advocate for this notion.

To begin with, one discernible benefit of parenting courses is that it makes parents more aware of their children needs and requirements, both physically and emotionally, which foster a strong child-parent relationship. In other words, parents who have read parenting books and went through parenting courses deal with their children’s problems more wisely. Moreover, acknowledging the importance of quality time with children, many corporations nowadays offer family camps, in which parents engage in fun activities and competitions with their kids aiming at better bonding; Wellspring camps are a pertinent example.

Another significant advantage of parenting courses is the decreased risk of childhood trauma to the kids. To illustrate, a considerable number of children grow up with childhood traumas owing to their parents’ misbehavior and abuse; this is to say, numerous parents are indulged into their work and have less time to listen to their children which makes those children prone to lack of confidence in their teenage years, in the same way children who fall victims of bullying are more likely to adopt suicidal thoughts later on in their lives. To exemplify, in USA, more than double of the suicide crimes are committed by teenagers who were bullied in their early childhood. Due to its detrimental side effect, 13 reasons why, a good teen drama series about bullying, illustrated the life of a teenager who committed suicide because of bullying.

In conclusion, the pros of parenting courses are uncountable, including better children’s mental health and less childhood traumas. Therefore, I firmly contend that parenting courses should be a habit. Hence, the governmental efforts should be targeted towards launching awareness campaigns regarding this matter, which will decrease not only the suicide rates, but also violence and crimes rates in general.