Part 2: Write an essay of between 200-250 words on the following topic: Many people say that cooking and eating at home is better for the children and the family than eating out in restaurants or canteens. Do you agree with this idea? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today’s fast-paced world, eating has always been a widely-debated topic leading to many controversies and arguments. Opinions are divided as to whether home-made food would be beneficial for the children and the family rather than having processed-foods or eating out in restaurants or canteens. In my opinion, I wholeheartedly concur with the former owing to the food quality and food safety, as well as strengthening family bonds.

Initially, it is irrefutable that home-made food is usually healthier and fresher as people can assure the freshness and safety of the ingredients they are eating. When people prepare the meals at home by themselves, they can adjust the ingredients, saturated fats or less sugar and salt in their meals. This could help them to ensure the quality of food, which may provide people with a great source of essential vitamins and enough energy. On the contrary, processed food is usually rich in saturated fat, cholesterol or even harmful substances which may result in the proneness to cancer, diabetes or cardiovascular diseases. In addition, these foods are usually low-quality and non-nutritive which turns out to bring about no nutritional value and take a toll on people’s health. This exemplification bears testimony to the fact that eating at home can somehow be beneficial for people’s health in terms of food safety and quality.

Furthermore, when eating at home, people can spend quality time with their beloved ones which could strengthen family bonds. Eating at home may give people the opportunity to have idle chatter with their family about their daily lives. This is exemplified by the fact that when eating at home, not only can children know how to cook and gain a deeper insight into different cuisines but also they can show affection to their loved ones. These momentous occasions can toughen up the traditional values of the family cuisines and strengthen the family bonds. Meanwhile, eating out is usually half-hearted and momentary, which might culminate in the widening generation gap as people have little time to get to know each other.In recapitulation, although eating out is greatly opted by many consumers, albeit having no nutritional values, I still hold my view that the intake of processed food can bring about many deleterious impacts which might culminate in the deterioration of consumers’ health. Hence, eating at home can be healthier and beneficial due to aforementioned justifications that I have mentioned above.