People are having more and more sugar-based drinks. What are the reasons? What are the solutions to make people drink less.

People now tend to consume more and more sugary beverages. There are several causes behind this trend, and people can take actionable steps to mitigate this potential problem.

The foremost cause of this problem is convenience. A huge number of convenience stores are built everywhere, which makes it easier for people to get a cup of soft drink in their hands. The stories can be named differently, such as Circle K, Tocotoco, Highland Coffee, 7-Eleven, etc., and their sizes can be small, medium, or big. However, they are all so ready to serve us sugar-sweetened beverages with a variety of flavors at an affordable price. Moreover, we are so easily addicted to this type of drink. The large quantities of sugar in the drinks can lead our brains to release a large amount of dopamine. As a result, we will immediately feel delightful, happy, and full of energy after drinking sugary beverages. If we drink frequently, we will undoubtedly rely on fake emotions and want to consume more and more. Finally, the lack of awareness about the disadvantages that soft drinks provide is also a reason for this problem. We drink them simply because they are tasty and cheap, and we do not care about the negative effects they can bring.

To address this issue, we need to take action together. The government needs to enact policies to raise the tax applied to this type of drink, leading to a boost in the price. When the price increases, people will be more hesitant to consume, and they will likely consider using more healthy drinks. Suppliers and brands ought to set limits on sugar content, which can reduce consumers’ sacrifice and addiction. However, this solution may be difficult to carry out because it will directly impact the brands’ profits. Thus, the third solution of enhancing public awareness about the harmful influence of sugar-based drinks will be more effective. The government will play a crucial role in raising the awareness of people through news, newspapers, and so on. Schools and parents also need to take responsibility for teaching the young about the downsides of soft drinks.

Our health depends on our choices; we are what we consume. Thus, if we want to maintain long-term wellbeing, we need to consider carefully and wisely before drinking anything.