People are having more and more sugar-based drinks. What are the reasons? What are the solutions to make people drink less.

An increasing number of individuals are opting to have sugary drinks . This essay will discuss the possible causes behind this development and suggest certain feasible solutions to mitigate the problem.

There are two major reasons that give rise to this menace. One possible catalyst is the unique and delicious flavor of soft drinks.

In fact, many factories often put sweeteners and flavoring into the drinks which help to enrich flavors and stimulate the taste, it is often appealing to people, especially children and teenagers. Another cause is the habit of drinking sweet beverages. Many people feel delight and pleasant when they drink sugary drinks. This is because sugar-based beverages contain huge amounts of sugar that can increase the serotonin levels in the brain, which makes people feel good and happy. Thus, regular consumption of sugary drinks becomes a habit that is difficult to break for some people.

However, the menace of the increasing consumption of soft drinks can be fought. The first solution should be the promotion of educational campaigns. The government needs to run public service advertising or programs to educate people about the harm of sweet drinks. For example, the Vietnamese government has launched a program that educated and warned citizens about consequences of having too much soft beverages, such as increasing the rate of heart disease, liver disease and cancer. Another solution involves raising tax on sugary drinks companies. The government should increase excise tax on this industry to restrict consumption. As a result, the number of buyers will decrease due to higher prices.

In conclusion, the growth of a large level of sugar-based drinks may be caused by the feeling of happiness and taste stimulation when people drink it. Where possible, consumer education about the risk of sweet drinks and raising the tax on the soft drinks industry can effectively tackle the problem.