People are living in a 'throwaway society', using things for a short time and then throwing them away. What are the causes of this? What problems does it lead to?

In this modern era, Consumers are following the trend of usage and throw policy in which they use a product for a short period of time and then dispose of it away. This essay will first elaborate on the primary culprits rendering this phenomenon and describe the negative effects on the society.

On the one hand, there has some reasons which have arisen due to this demerits trend. The immiediate cause of this is currently people are encouraged to buy new things without a necessity due to irresistible advertisements and promotions. Therefore, manufacturers promote their products in order to attract customers and have a flexible income. For instance, many smartphone companies launch new smartphone models every year. Consequently, people are attracted by the promotions and buy it, nevertheless, these models have the same functionality as the previous model. Another contributing factor is many manufacturers also open many factories where they produce a great number of unnecessary products in order to have high income. Thus, this strategy is under the influence of the advertisement and also attracts people to buy these products then throw away after a short period.

On the other hand, this trend has become a serious threat to the environment and the health of our civilization. Firstly, it will result in degradation of the environment in the form of destruction of ecosystem, habitat destruction. Users contribute towards various forms of pollutions that eventually spoils the environment and makes it unfit for survival. For example, the usage of the high volume of the motor vehicles creates smoke in the air and thus gives birth to air pollution which not only spoils the ozone layer but also gives birth to the diseases such as asthma and breathing issues. Moreover, this also creates a problem for marine animals and makes them extinct. To illustrate, Marine ecology is in danger because of the dispose of plastic material in large oceans which are eventually eaten by water animals and thus become a reason for their instant death. Therefore, pollution and extinction of marine life are occurring because of the actions of human beings.

In conclusion, throwaway culture can be caused by several reasons, and it might have a negative impact on both environment and individual life.