People are living in a 'throwaway society', using things for a short time and then throwing them away. What are the causes of this? What problems does it lead to?

It is evident that people are living in a throwaway society currently. The causes of being throwaway deeply rooted in the human psychology. This essay will explore the underlying forces behind this mentality and also will uncover the issues it is causing.

The first and foremost reason is people’s mentality to show them off in front of others which make them contention. People tend to show their financial strength by acquiring things for a short while even they are not necessarily significant for them. For example, in Bangladesh wealthy section of the society purchase luxury car by paying up to 400% tax while ignoring the home-based manufactured car even if it is not worth of money. By doing this they get sense of accomplishment. Secondly, people throughout the world have been widely associated with global trend which drives them to remain with the flow because of peer pressure. For example, whenever Apple launches new iPhone model, customers go to Apple store and stand on the queue to acquire the new phone.

This mentality doesn’t only affect those who are buying things and throwing after using for a short period of time but it is causing problems for the people who are in absolute need of that products as well for as for the world as a whole. Firstly, this showing off attitude provoke others to do so and if they can’t afford feel sense of deprivation which sometime lead to suicide. For example, in Bangladesh during Eid shopping, reputed clothing outlets bring new designers cloth costs higher than a mid level officer’s income. In such situation when the children and better half of the richest people of the society purchase those clothes, the poorer section people feel deprived of which resulted in causalities like death in recent years though those dresses were bought for just Eid day. Additionally, throwing unnecessary things here and there impacts ecology result in environment pollution. For example, plastics make lands dedicated for cultivation arid and lowering nutrients of the soil.

In conclusion, being a part of throwaway society is not just an accident but it is a chosen attitude which negatively hampering both the society and people. It is people who truly responsible for such mental distortions but could bring it lower by recycling and reusing. To bring stability in society everybody should grow sense of responsibility to not to be a part of a throwaway society.