People believe that they should be able to keep all the money they earn and should not pay tax to the state. To what extent do yo

It is believed that workers should be allowed to keep salaries to themselves and should not need to pay taxes. However, I disagree with this statement wholeheartedly.

Firstly, taxes must be paid to facilitate the development of a country. Government use taxes to invest in different aspects of the nation, for instance, healthcare, education or transportation. Furthermore, the revenue is used to build community centres, schools and hospitals and ensure that those amenities are accessible to people of all statuses. Lacking funds for these facilities can make the government unable to provide essential services to its people, driving the quality of life down. The costly pricing of services from private companies can put pressure on the lives of the poor.

Secondly, taxes create equality between classes of society and redistribute wealth. For example, progressive taxes make richer people pay more while the poorer pay less. The rich’s money will be utilized to invest in affordable services for the poor. Furthermore, taxes can also tackle social issues such as charging more money for drugs, plastic bags,… Getting their money wasted on such things will discourage people from consuming and incentivize them to find alternatives that are more beneficial to their surrounding environment.

In conclusion, opposing the statement given, it is obliged for people to pay taxes concerning the benefits taxes bring to society. Not only is a matter of wealth redistribution or government regulation, paying taxes is a way for everyone to contribute to the wellness of their community.