People have different views on higher education. Globalisation continue to make the job market more competitive. Some argue that university courses should focus exclusively on practical learning and vocational training rather than a liberal arts education (a broader education). Do you agree or disagree with this statement. Use examples from your own experience to support your answer. You should write at least 250 words.

Some people claim that university courses should concentrate exclusively on practical learning and vocational training rather than a broader education. However, in my opinion, liberal arts education still plays an important role in college life.

One of the reasons that universities should keep the broader education continuous is that some students might still feel confused for their future, a liberal arts education can make sure they can explore different fields. Take Earth science for example. Earth science is a specific topic, but it actually can be divided into many categories such as geology, earthquake, astronomy and so on. If students focus on vocational training at first, they may miss the subjects that they are really interested in.

Secondly, students still need to learn basic knowledge and information for their major. If students only focus on practical learning and particular information, they will miss the chances of studying and acquiring more difficult knowledge which the general public do not have the chance to study and understand. On the other hand, students will not understand the principles behind when they operate since schools implement the broader education to their students.

In conclusion, I think liberal art education should continue to be the main courses in university. First reason is that students may find their interests via a wide education. In addition, learning only practical knowledge may cause the effects that students do not really understand the principle behind the back.