People increasingly spend their leisure time using computers, for example, surfing the internet or playing computer games. What do you think are the main advantages and disadvantages of this phenomenon?

There are varying opinions about whether using computers affects our leisure time. While some argue that computers have a good effect on people’s leisure time, others believe that their drawbacks outweigh the positive ones. In this essay, I will explain why I agree with the latter viewpoint.

On the one hand, computers and internet undoubtedly have advantages in our lives. through the internet people can make contact with other people who live in foreign countries. Thus, it gives them the possibility of sharing information and interests with others. For example, many people more easily connect with others who have the same hobbies through the email and chat program in leisure time.

However, I believe that the significant drawbacks outweigh the positive ones. firstly, excessive computer use tends to isolate individuals from the world just outside our front door. For this reason, they may speak to friends and neighbors less because they are busy playing games indoors. For example, “hikikomori”, individuals who excessively play game and do not go outside, are a severe social problem in japan or South Korea.

Furthermore, the problem of addiction is a critical issue, some psychologists argue that computer games are addictive, which means that some people may be distracted from doing more valuable things. For example, computer game addiction prevent people from spending time with their families and studying

In conclusion, while computer makes life more convenient, such as allowing people easily contact others, the negative impacts on isolation and addiction are serious and widespread. Therefore, we should prioritize educating self-control and finding a balance to prevent excessive computer use.