People live on or below the poverty line. Why is this? What can be done?

It is not people’s fault they are born on or below the poverty line. It is not a choice one makes but rather an unfortunate situation to be born into. Their poor financial situation restricts them from crossing this line, on the contrary that does not mean it can not be fixed.

People living below the poverty line do not have the financial privilege required to live a better life. Adolescents stop their education till secondary level to take family responsibilities. Even if they have successfully completed their high school education, the tuition fees for university is too expensive for them to afford. This prevents them from finding the necessary job opportunities as they do not have the pre-requisite college education. For instance, a teenager living in the Mumbai slums can not afford to go to college, therefore restricting them from a chance at a better life.

It is possible to get them out of this predicament. College education should be made free for those who qualify below a certain level of income. Providing financial assistance gives them access to a college level education level without burdening family finances. This can open them up to a myriad of job opportunities. People that opt to work should have a livable wage rate. They need to be paid a sufficient that gives them the power to afford basic necessities like water, food, electricity, etc.

It is quite disheartening to see people forced to live a life due to their beleaguered financial status. With the right resources and facilities, these people can achieve their true potential and better standard of living. Certain changes can impact the lives of millions of people.