Some people believe that students should acquire work experience during their studies, while others argue that it is better for students to focus on their academic work. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people argue that students should acquire work experience during their studies, whereas others think that it is more advantageous for students to concentrate on their academic work. While acquiring work experience makes it much easier to adapt to the workplace after getting employed, concentrating on academic work enhances their theoretical knowledge and makes them more professionally prepared.

Acquiring work experience while studying does have several benefits. For example, when students graduate from university, they will already have work experience and get paid much sooner compared to students without experience. In addition, adaptation will be much faster since they already know what to do. However, acquiring work experience while studying can be a daunting experience. As a result, most students may burn out quickly and lose interest and ultimately go depressed. The solution for that is to know when to stop and time management. Students can still acquire work experience while studying. For example, when students get bored from their studies, they can learn more practical things in their field and that will be acquiring experience.

On the other hand, focusing on academic work can be especially beneficial for students in the long-term. This is because they can spend much more time on their studies and learn their fields inside out, preparing professionally. Its benefits are especially obvious when students chase higher degrees such as Master’s and Phd. Students who have a master’s degree are more likely to get accepted and promoted faster in prestigious companies. Regarding disadvantages, students concentrating more on academic work may feel that they are lagging behind since their peers may already be working and earning money and gaining real experience. However, they will outpace them with much deeper knowledge in their field since most companies hire students with higher degrees and teach them how to work for free.

In conclusion, both approaches have their own advantages and disadvantages. While gaining experience while studying may give you fast experience gaining and money earning, concentrating on academics offers much more in the long-term. Since deeper knowledge and higher degrees are highly appreciated these days.