Some people think that ambition is essential for success. To what extent do you agree?

Some people claim that ambition is necessary when trying to achieve a certain goal. In my opinion, even though ambition can keep individuals motivated while working towards their goals, hard work is what matters the most.

Ambition can motivate people to work hard on their goals. If individuals want to succeed, they must get over many challenges and difficulties. People who are not passionate about what they do, tend to give up easily and are unable to solve the problems that they may encounter. By way of example, university students who are not interested in their field of study, often fail their exams and end up dropping out. On the other hand, students who enjoy the subjects and wish to be professionals in their fields tend to excel in their studies.

Even though individuals must remain motivated, being hard working is what truly matters. Ambition alone does not lead to practical results, and relying on it can lead to laziness. This is because many goals in life require a lot of hard work and dedication, which can discourage people from pursuing them. Therefore, those who rely solely on their motivation might not stick to their plans and might end up giving up on their dreams. Many lazy people, for instance, are ambitious about what they do. However, they often lack the necessary discipline that can make them work hard and achieve their goals.

In conclusion, I agree that individuals must be passionate and ambitious in order to succeed. Nevertheless, ambition alone does not replace hard work and discipline. Therefore, those who wish to succeed must not only be interested in what they do, but they should also show dedication and discipline.