Some people think that ambition is essential for success. To what extent do you agree?

Succeeding in life is something everyone dreams to achieve, regardless of what they are striving for. Many people may say that success is solely dependent on skill and luck, but is that the full picture? In fact,having ambitions is remains one of the core pillars of striving for success, thus I firmly agree that ambition is essential for success.

Before jumping into discussions, I think it is most important to determine the true meaning of success. Success isn’t simply achieving goals or ticking off milestones, it’s about achievements and being the best, it’s about being able to stand out and reaching greater heights than others.

A reason to support this claim is that people tend to underestimate their limits. As humans, we are often unaware of our potential, being limited by our own surroundings and results, hence underestimating ourselves. Ambition is the exact contrary, where despite acknowledging possibilities of incompetence, we force ourselves to aim higher and strive for more. This is crucial for the path towards success, since we tend to slack off whenever the task becomes unchallenging, lacking motivation to push forward and achieve success.

Another argument supporting this claim is lack of motivation. On the other side of the spectrum, there are those who are skilled and lucky, such as those who were born in rich families and have had high social statuses since birth. These people can easily achieve success as long as they put their minds to it, yet they lack the motivation to work hard, since they have had everything spoon-fed, having no worries nor faced any troubles in their life. As a result, ambition is just as essential to their success, as without a proper “push on the back”, they are most likely going to let their talents go to waste, and fail to reach their a tenth of what they could’ve achieved.

To put this in context to close, without ambition, one cannot achieve success, as it is the core source of motivation for both talented and less talented individuals to strive for the success that they were meant to achieve.