People nowadays spend their free time less actively than in the past. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a view that people currently use their spare time more passively than in the past. I will here elaborate on both my agreement and disagreement with this opinion, along with the reasoning.

To begin, I agree that people nowadays spend their free time less actively than in the past. People in this decade are very lazy, while people in the past were very diligent. Many people today use their spare time to sleep from morning to evening. They prefer silence in their homes. They do not utilize their free time to do beneficial activities, such as sports, walking, and reading books. Meanwhile, people in the past were the opposite.

Furthermore, people used to play with their gadgets all day in their homes and did not want to go anywhere. Some people play games, such as PUBG, Free Fire, and Mobile Legends. They play them nonstop until they forget their main activities. Others use their gadgets to access social media such as TikTok, Instagram, and Twitter. They scroll through them until they are addicted. That activity makes people tend to be passive. Meanwhile, not all people in the past had gadgets.

However, I disagree with the view that people use their spare time only to do passive activities, so that they are less active than people in the past. They can do exercises, such as football, volleyball, and basketball. They play them with their friends, family, or work colleagues. This activity indirectly encourages them to be more active than people in the past.

To conclude, people nowadays spend their free time less actively than in the past, for some reasons as explained earlier, even though there is one argument that rejects this view.