People should have more days off. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people hold the idea that individuals should have more days off in a week, while others are convinced that the conventional working hours should not be subjected to changes. I side with those who think that people deserve more time off work and I am going to cover the major benefits of a shortened working week in this essay.

To begin with, if individuals work less, the will be provided with an opportunity to spend more time with their families. Undoubtedly, a traditional five-day working week results in poor work-life balance of people which, in its turn, is highly likely to have a detrimental effect on families. According to recent statistics, a high percentage of marriages ends up in divorce as the amount of time that spouses enjoy together is restricted by work.

In addition, spending fewer hours at work people might have enough time to consider taking up new hobbies and embarking on leisure time pursuits which are sure to help them relieve some stress caused by working under pressure or meeting tough deadlines at work. Low stress levels are absolutely essential to anyone since they have a positive effect on our mood. Not only do low stress levels make us feel joy about life, but they also cut the risks of a number of serious stress-related diseases.

In conclusion, I would like to stress that were a working week made shorter, family members would not drift apart due to poor work-life balance. What is more, such a schedule is sure to have a positive effect on their physical and mental state.